Swings

In my city, we don’t have swings at the parks. I’m not sure why, but it did mean I wanted to put swings in my garden.

I thought of a traditional swing set. Unoriginal, and often not functional. Metal swing sets tip if not anchored, and I’ve seen lots of wood ones collapse on themselves after a few years. They aren’t very cheap either.

On our property is a very large Douglas Fir. I thought it would be a wonderful place to hang a couple of swings. Later on, I saw this post, and we copied the construction of the swings. One swing is a traditional rope swing, the other we attached our existing baby swing.

The whole project took one evening, a large borrowed ladder, and cost about $50. The kids love the swings. Because they are hung on high branches, they swing high and far.

The only downside so far is the tree is rather sappy. It can get shoes and shorts pretty dirty.  

swing1
cheese
swing3
swing4

Leave a comment